Skip to product information
1 of 1

Spring Arbor

Prejean, Helen: Dead Man Walking

Regular price $16.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $16.00 USD
The reputation of Rainer Maria Rilke has grown steadily since his death in 1926; today he is widely considered to be the greatest poet of the twentieth century. This Modern Library edition presents Stephen Mitchell's acclaimed translations of Rilke, which have won praise for their re-creation of the poet's rich formal music and depth of thought. "œIf Rilke had written in English,"� Denis Donoghue wrote in The New York Times Book Review, "œhe would have written in this English."� Ahead of All Parting is an abundant selection of Rilke's lifework. It contains representative poems from his early collections The Book of Hours and The Book of Pictures; many selections from the revolutionary New Poems, which drew inspiration from Rodin and Cezanne; the hitherto little-known "œRequiem for a Friend"�; and a generous selection of the late uncollected poems, which constitute some of his finest work. Included too are passages from Rilke's influential novel, The Notebooks of Malte Laurids Brigge, and nine of his brilliant uncollected prose pieces. Finally, the book presents the poet's two greatest masterpieces in their entirety: the Duino Elegies and The Sonnets to Orpheus. "œRilke's voice, with its extraordinary combination of formality, power, speed and lightness, can be heard in Mr. Mitchell's versions more clearly than in any others,"� said W. S. Merwin. "œHis work is masterful."�